The Divided Kingdom
Revised August 4, 2003

You may have already noticed some funny URLs in the Oo Kingdom: joe.ookingdom.com, crafts.ookingdom.com and pictures.ookingdom.com. We have created three subdomains on the site so we can get separate statistics on each one. This will enable us to design the sites so they are more user-friendly. Each subdomain will have its own style, and computers will treat each one as a separate site.

Links to the old URLs from search engines and other sites will still work, thanks to automatic redirection. For example, a visitor headed for www.ookingdom.com/joe/pokemon will automatically be sent to joe.ookingdom.com/pokemon.

Work on various pages is still in progress; please be patient during this time of transition. A few smaller surprises may still be in store.

Just a word about the Spanish edition (espanol.ookingdom.com): it didn’t work out. My Spanish is poor, and translation proved too great a task. Anyway, most of the visitors from Spanish-speaking countries are going to the Yu-Gi-Oh site, and since the names of the characters are different in every country, we may be using the wrong names.

Thursday, August 7, 2003

The Long Day
2:30 a.m. CDT (7:30 UTC)

Our kitten, Shadow, is now exactly six months old. She will be at the vet today for spaying and declawing. It’s a common procedure, I know, but we are all very nervous. That is why I am up posting this at 2:30 a.m. More later.

7:38 a.m. CDT (12:38 UTC)

Just dropped off Shadow at the vet. She meowed loudly in the car for the first half of the trip there. They weighed her in at five pounds even (2.27 kg). She will undergo surgery today and be kept at the clinic overnight.

1:55 p.m. CDT (18:55 UTC)

We received a call at 12:55 p.m. local time. Shadow is out of surgery; she made it through just fine. We visited her 40 minutes later. She was awake but predictably groggy. It was very good to see her.

Friday, August 8, 2003

Tender and Timid
11:50 a.m. CDT (16:50 UTC)

We brought Shadow home from the vet this morning at 9:42 local time. As one might expect, her tummy is tender from the spaying, and she is quite timid. Her appetite hasn’t returned yet. She was quivering when we first brought her home. She spends much of her time hiding under the sofa.

The main thing is that she is OK, and she is home. I am sure that her normal vitality will return when a few days have passed and she has healed more.

We have an appointment for August 20 to get the stitches removed.

Friday, August 22, 2003

Shadow is doing fine. Her stitches were removed on August 20. She is back to her active self now.

Two new pages have been added to the site:

A new link has been added to our links page. It leads to Kim & Jason, a fine comic strip by Jason Kotecki in nearby Madison, Wisconsin.

This site will soon be undergoing yet another revision. This time it’s a major change. The main site (www.ookingdom.com) will look much different, but the content will remain much the same. The subdomains (crafts, joe and pictures) will look much as they do now.